Halifax Waste-Resource Society

P.O. Box 213 Lakeside, NS B3T 1M6

## HWRS 2023 Annual General Meeting Minutes April 06, 2023, 6:30 PM, Brunello Pavilion Bldg. Timberlea

Members attending: Linda MacKay -chair, Tom Robertson-Vice Chair, Andrew Giles- Treasurer, Channing Davis and Frank Johnston

Staff: Reg Rankin, Executive Director, Jason Timms, CMC Social Media Technician and Scott Morash, CMC Environmental Consultant

Guests: Andrew Philopoulos, HRM and Steve Copp, MIRROR

All members of record were duly notified of this meeting.

- 1. Motion by Andrew Giles seconded by Tom Robertson to approve the circulated Agenda. Carried.
- 2. Motion by Frank Johnston seconded by Tom Robertson to approve the Minutes of the last Annual General Virtual Meeting of the Society held on June 16 ,2022. Carried.
- 3. Motion by Andrew Giles seconded by Tom Robertson to wave the \$5.00 membership fee for the fiscal year 2023-24. Carried.
- 4. Remarks were provided by Linda MacKay for the past fiscal year 2022-23 ending March 31, 2023.
- 5. Motion to approve by Andrew Giles seconded by Channing Davis the two related resolutions ( as attached) as circulated which amends the HWRS By-Laws. Carried
- Motion by Andrew Giles seconded by Tom Robertson to approve the Financial Statements for the 2022-23 fiscal year ended March 31<sup>st</sup>. 2023 as presented by Andrew Giles, Treasurer (as Attached). The ending bank balance was \$ 655.83. Carried.
- 7. Reg Rankin commenced chairing the nominations for the 7 Directors for the fiscal year 2022-2023; namely:

Moved by Andrew Giles for the nomination of Linda MacKay, Tom Robertson, Frank Johnston,

Channing Davis, Peter Lund, John Cascadden

Moved by Linda Mac Kay for the nomination of Andrew Giles.

Moved by Tom Robertson seconded by Andrew Giles for nominations to cease. Carried.

All nominations were acclaimed.

- 8. It was moved by Andrew Giles seconded by Channing Davis that Linda MacKay as chair, Tom Robertson as Vice President, Peter Lund as Secretary and Andrew Giles as Treasurer. No other nominations, the above nominations were acclaimed.
- 9. It was moved by Tom Robertson that: Linda MacKay, Tom Robertson, Andrew Giles, Peter Lund, Channing Davis and John Cascadden constitute the 6 members appointed to CMC. Carried.
- 10. Motion to adjourn by Tom Robertson.